Leave a comment

Make Something!

So, I got out in the shop this weekend and here are the results. Honestly, they are pretty pathetic. The woodwork on the knife handle is sloppy, mis-cut and I will have to redo it. On the plus side, I peened the brass rod to hold the slabs on and it seems to have worked wonderfully. In fact, Im wondering how I am going to get them off without destroying the slabs which I may be able to re-use.

The point isn’t my pathetic woodworking skills. The point is, I got out there and did something, I learned a number of things. For one, I re-learned the old adage it is easier to take off wood than put it back on. Simply giving myself more edge would have made the slabs usable. I also learned a real appreciation for skilled craftsmen. Guys and gals who can make something with their own hands of such quality that they deserve every penny they get for their product.

So, here are my poor examples. My very first attempt to handle a knife and make a sheath from Kydex. Hopefully, this is just the beginning of a new phase of making things in my life!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

