Leave a comment

Inertia

Newton’s 1st Law: The vis insita, or innate force of matter, is a power of resisting by which every body, as much as in it lies, endeavours to preserve its present state, whether it be of rest or of moving uniformly forward in a straight line.

It would be very easy for me to put all this on hold right now. With a full time job in the Army and a beautiful wife and 4 kids who deserve all my attention right now, weeks before my third deployment, it would be easy to say to myself “just wait, there isn’t time right now”. But, as one of the contestants on last night’s episode of The Voice kept repeating to themselves backstage “dreams don’t chase themselves”.

I am finding that the hardest thing to overcome in building into my life the resiliency I want is overcoming inertia. Inertia in our spending habits, in how we allocate our time, in my own self in the sense of getting off my lazy butt and out into the garage when I DO have time and completing a project or two. I begin to understand why sloth was listed as one of the 7 deadly sins.

And the worst part is, if I am honest, I am not really lazy. I have a full time job, I am getting ready to deploy, I have 4 wonderful, young kids who deserve all the time I have to give them and more and a wife who is an angel and deserves more than of me than there is in existence. Not to mention, I am fighting the inertia of getting back into the gym after 10 months off for post-surgery recovery and the seemingly never ending struggle to pursue my faith in a Creator honoring way.

But, it can be done. I was able to film a product review last night and this morning before I left for work. I will get that put together and up within 24 hours. I will get the products I need for the M1 Kaveman Kits on order today or tomorrow. I will take my oldest kids squirrel hunting this week.

It can be done, even in our frantic society. If I feel this way, I am sure many of you do to. Get out there and do something, even something small. But take that first step out the door. It is the only way to get where you want to go.

“Remember what Bilbo used to say: It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

The Road Goes Ever On
The Road goes ever on and on
Down from the door where it began.
Now far ahead the Road has gone,
And I must follow, if I can,
Pursuing it with eager feet,
Until it joins some larger way
Where many paths and errands meet.
And whither then? I cannot say.

Leave a Reply

