Leave a comment

Kaveman’s Outdoors

New page on my new business!

https://myresilientlife.wordpress.com/kavemans-outdoors/

In an effort to take my own advice, I am announcing the formation of my small business.  Kaveman Outdoors is an experimental enterprise formed for the express purpose to allow me to develop entrepreneurial and workshop skills.  All products will be sold with a full replacement guarantee and at a minimal price point over cost.  Basically, as long as I break even on materials and can defray some expense for capitol expenditures I will be a happy camper.  At the same time, I am striving to provide useful equipment and information at an economical price point and develop and improve my ability to create and modify useful objects.  I also hope to begin to establish my personal brand and an online reputation for quality, customer relations and service.

My initial product line will be the TB 1 series of products (Test Bed 1).  They will utilize modern materials to create modular, customizable toolkits for outdoors and survival oriented individuals.  The focus of the toolkits will be the ability to provide basic survival necessities in a light weight, configurable, tough package suitable across a range of environments.

I have plans for a second product line, the Longhunter Series, which will fulfill the same needs, but be period correct for the 1640-1840 time period.

Unfortunately, once the initial offering is built, I will probably be on hiatus from making stuff for a year while I am deployed.  I may work on some 550 cord projects and other small stuff, but I don’t know yet what my job is going to look like, so I cannot estimate available time and resources.  I will re-start the workshop portion when I return.

Project goals for February: Obtain basic shop tools, storage, enough materials to make 10 sets of M1 Kaveman Kits, receive pre-orders, choose online and print graphics and develop a resource page to print and add to orders.  Online: Build company page, Facebook page,  be able to take Paypal, establish best platform for webpage, email, phone, etc.

Project goals for March: Build and sell 10 M1 Kaveman Kits, publish Youtube video documenting use of M1 Kaveman Kit, collect feedback from initial customers, etc.

M1 Kaveman Kit: (CONDITIONAL UPON MY COLLECTING ALL THIS AND ACTUALLY TRYING TO PACK IT)

1x MARTINDALE OR TRAMONTINA 12” MACHETE (MODIFIED ACCORDING TO COLHANE’S MOD VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IsZb_1XfFHo&feature=related )

KYDEX SHEATH (COLOR OPTIONS: EARTH BROWN, OD, BLACK)

1x OLD HICKORY 4” PARING KNIFE

KYDEX SHEATH (COLOR OPTIONS: EARTH BROWN, OD, BLACK)

3x RANGER BANDS

30’ 130LB NYLON TWINE

10’ GREEN 550 CORD

30’ 30LB SPIDER WIRE

1x 3” FERROCERIUM ROD W/24”x1” DUCT TAPE GRIP

1x POUCH, EXTERNAL

1x TIN BOX 2”x2.5”

CONTENTS:

1x WHISTLE

3’ ORANGE FLAGGING TAPE

3x NEOSPORIN COTTONBALLS IN PLASTIC PILL FORM

2x BAND-AIDS

2x BUTTERFLY BANDAGES

3x SAFETY PINS

2x LG HOOKS

4x SM HOOKS

2x SM TREBLE HOOKS

15’ SNARE WIRE

6x ASSORT. SPLIT SHOT

1x NATO COMPASS

18×18” HD ALUM. FOIL

1x TURKEY ROASTING BAG

3x 8p FINISHING NAILS, SHARPENED

Leave a Reply

